STATUTE-42

Recognition Committee, Constitution and Functions

The University shall constitute a Recognition Committee consisting of following members to consider and recognize the certificates, degrees and other academic distinctions awarded by other Universities.

- (a) Constitution
 - (i) The Vice-Chancellor shall be the Chairperson;
 - (ii) All the Deans of the Faculties;
 - (iii) All the Head of Departments; and
 - (iv) Two Professors of the Faculty of the University.
- (b) Functions

The committee constituted to recognize other Universities shall consider the criterion as stated below:

- (i) Normally, the University will recognize the Certificates, Diplomas, Degrees and Ph.D. awarded by other Universities which are being recognized by the UGC and are the members of the Association of the Universities. However, the requirement of recognition will not be applicable in case of the Degrees issued by the Institutes of the National Importance such as IITs, IIMs, NITs, IISC Bangalore etc.
- (ii) In no case, any other University which does not satisfy above criterion shall be recognized including that of black listed Universities, by the UGC.
- (iii) If any of the Universities does fall in one of the above categories and there is some doubt, the matter may be referred to the UGC. Such Universities shall not be recognized until unless the UGC clearly state in writing the status of such doubtful Universities.

As far as the Foreign Universities are concerned, if not covered above, the guide lines issued by the UGC / Government of India shall be followed.